2010 World Cup: South Africa Gears Up

The 2010 FIFA world cup will hold in South Africa between the 11th of June and 11th of July 2010. Matches would be played in Capetown, Durban, Johannesburg, Mangaung, Nelson Mandela Bay, Nelspruit, Polokwane, Rustenburg and Pretoria.



The complete list of 10 stadiums in 9 host cities for the 2010 World Cup has been decided. The host cities are:

Bloemfontein – capital of Free State Province, located in central South Africa. The present modern rugby / soccer stadium, situated in a pleasant area close to the city center, is being further upgraded.

Cape Town – capital of Western Cape Province, and the legislative capital of South Africa. One of the world’s most beautiful cities set at the foot of Table Mountain on the ocean.

Durban – largest city in KwaZulu-Natal and South Africa’s major port. A surfing and holiday center on the north east coast.
Groundwork has started on the new stadium which is also expected to host a semi final and hold 68,000 spectators.
The stadium is close to a beach holiday area and within 5 kms of the CBD, so there will be a variety of accommodation options available.

Johannesburg – capital of Gauteng Province and South Africa’s largest city and major business and gold mining center.

Nelspruit – capital of Mpumalanga Province and a major agricultural center. Gateway to Kruger National Park. Construction work has commenced on the new stadium. Accommodation in the city or in any of the extensive “camps” in the park.

Polokwane – capital of Limpopo Province, 1300m above sea level. Small city 3 hours north of Pretoria and also close to wild life parks. New stadium to be built.

Port Elizabeth – located in Eastern Cape Province on the east coast, a major port. Work has already started on the new stadium, which is close to the city center and the ocean.
Proposed venue for the 2009 Confederations Cup.

Rustenburg – small, provincial city located North West Province in northern South Africa, close to the Rustenburg Nature Reserve.
New stadium, work expected to start shortly.

Pretoria – located in Gauteng Province, close to Johannesburg and the executive capital of South Africa. Utilising present modern 65,000 capacity rugby stadium – Loftus Versfield.

Second round matches will take place in: Cape Town, Johannesburg, Durban, Pretoria, Rustenberg, Port Elizabeth, and Bloemfontein
Quarter final matches in: Johannesburg, Cape Town, Port Elizabeth
Semi final matches in: Cape Town, Durban
Third place play off: Port Elizabeth
Final (and opening game) – Soccer City, Johannesburg


The complete list of 10 stadiums in 9 host cities for the 2010 World Cup has been decided. The stadiums are:

Green Point Stadium aka African Renaissance Stadium (Cape Town), 70,000 capacity. A new stadium will be constructed with a retractable roof.

Coca-Cola Park Stadium aka Ellis Park (Johannesburg), 60,000 capacity. Upgrading of South Africa’s premier Rugby stadium located in the center of the city.

Free State Stadium (Bloemfontein), 40,000 capacity. Renovation of a 1950s stadium

Moses Madhiba Stadium (Durban), 70,000 capacity. A new stadium will be constructed replacing King’s Park Stadium.

Loftus Versfeld (Pretoria). 50,000 capacity. Renovation of an existing stadium.

Mbombela Stadium (Nelspruit), 40,000 capacity. A new stadium will be constructed.

Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium (Port Elizabeth). 50,000 capacity. A new stadium will be constructed.

Peter Mokaba Stadium (Polokwane), 40,000 capacity. New stadium.

Royal Bakokeng Stadium (Rustenburg), 40,000 capacity. Renovation of an existing stadium.

Soccer City (Johannesburg) 94,700 capacity. Renovation of an existing stadium, on the western edge of the city where the opening game and final will be played.
New stadium with construction underway. South Africa’s equivalent of “Wembley”.

FIFA partners include Coca Cola, MTN, Sony, Budweiser, Castrol, McDonalds, Emirates, VISA, Continental tires


Tickets will go on sale in several phases. The first round of tickets for the 2010 World Cup Finals in South Africa went on sale in February 2009.

The 32 participating member football associations will be offered 12% of the purchasable tickets for the group matches and approximately 8% in the knockout phases.

All prices for World Cup tickets are in USD. Category 4 (15%) is reserved for South African residents and will be sold exclusively in the local currency – South African Rand (ZAR).

Category 1
Category 2
Category 3
Category 4

Opening Match





Group matches





Round of 16





Quarter finals





Semi finals





Third Place












The 2009 Under 20 world cup holds in Egypt between 24th September and 16th October 2009.


The 2009 under 17 world cup holds in Nigeria between 24th of October and 15th of November 2009


The 2010 under 20 womens world cup holds in Germany between 13th of July and 1st of August 2010


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.