2016 All Africa Music Awards, Lagos Nigeria

The 2016 All Africa Music Awards-AFRIMA, main awards ceremony came to a climatic end with a 13-song high-octane performance from PSquare, Africa’s biggest music duo, who churned out back to back medley of their greatest hits on Sunday, November 6 2016 at the Convention Centre, Eko Hotels & Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos. Hosted in Nigeria by Lagos State, the Official Host City, AFRIMA 2016 main awards ceremony was an exhibition of the cultural uniqueness of Africa and the host city. One of the objectives of AFRIMA is to create a platform for uniting Africans and celebrating the talents in the music industry of Africa. Special guests at the event included; Federal minister of information and culture Lai Mohammed and Lagos State Governor Akinwunmi Ambode.

Lagos State Governor Akinwunmi Ambode with the AFRIMA team
Lagos State Governor Akinwunmi Ambode with the AFRIMA team


  1. Best Male East Africa – Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)
  2. Best Female East Africa – Cindy Sanyu (Uganda)
  3. Best Male South Africa – Black Coffee (South Africa)
  4. Best female South Africa – Sally Boss Madam (Namibia)
  5. Best Male Central Africa- Wax Dey (Cameroon)
  6. Best Female Central Africa- Bruna Tatiana (Angola)
  7. Best Male North Africa – DJ Van (Morocco)
  8. Best Female North Africa- Zina Daoudia (Morocco)
  9. Best Male West Africa – Flavour (Nigeria)
  10. Best Female West Africa – Aramide (Nigeria)

[ngg_images source=”galleries” container_ids=”947″ override_thumbnail_settings=”0″ thumbnail_width=”120″ thumbnail_height=”120″ thumbnail_crop=”1″ images_per_page=”12″ number_of_columns=”4″ ajax_pagination=”0″ show_all_in_lightbox=”0″ use_imagebrowser_effect=”0″ show_slideshow_link=”1″ slideshow_link_text=”[Show as slideshow]” order_by=”sortorder” order_direction=”ASC” returns=”included” maximum_entity_count=”500″ display_type=”photocrati-nextgen_basic_thumbnails”]

  1. Best Inspirational Female – Naomi Achu (Cameroon)
  1. Best Artiste/Dou/GroupBand in African Contemporary- Flavour (Nigeria)
  1. Most Promising Artiste- Amine Aub (Morocco)
  1. African Fans Favorite – Phyno (Nigeria)
  1. Song writer of the year – Unique (Uganda)
  1. Special Recognition Award- King Sunny Ade (Nigeria)
  1. Best Artist/Duo/Group African Hiphop- Stanley Enow (Cameroon)
  1. Best Artist/Duo/Group African Ragga & Dancehall- Patoranking (Nigeria)
  1. Best Artist/Duo/Group African Traditional music- Zeynab (Benin)
  1. Best Artist/Duo/Group African Electro -Such (Zimbabwe)
  1. Best Artist/Duo/Group African RnB – Henok & Mehari Brothers (Ethiopia)
  1. Best Artist/Duo/Group in African Rock -M’vula (Angola)
  1. Best African Jazz – Jimmy Dludlu (South Africa)
  1. Best African Group -VVIP (Ghana)
  1. Best African Collaboration – Mbilo Mbilo by Eddy Kenzo (Uganda) ft Niniola (Nigeria)
  1. Video of the Year – Dogo Yaro by VVIP (Ghana)
  1. Revelation of the year – Falz (Nigeria)

    28. Album of the year – Ahmed Soultan (Morocco)

  1. Song of the year- Utanipenda Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)
  1. Best African Producer – Kuseim (Uganda)
  1. Artist of the Year -Wizkid (Nigeria)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.