AAFCA to honor Langley, Allain, Leonard

Universal Pictures Chairwoman, Donna Langley, L.A. Film Festival Director Stephanie Allain and Black List.com co-founder Franklin Leonard will be among the honorees at the African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) annual awards.

The AAFCA will honor the trio with its Special Achievement Award for career excellence during its annual award show on Feb. 4, 2015 at the Taglyan Complex in Hollywood, CA. The organization has also selected LA Times entertainment reporter Susan King as the 2015 recipient of its Roger Ebert Award and producer Debra Martin Chase, who will receive the Ashley Boone Award, an accolade named after the late distribution executive and brother of Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences president Cheryl Boone Isaacs.

“We are more than delighted with our distinguished group of honorees for 2015,” says AAFCA president, Gil Robertson. “Each of them have achieved a level of excellence with their body of work in their respective crafts. They are examples who are to be admired and the members of AAFCA look forward to celebrating their achievements.”

Established in 2003, the African American Film Critics Association is the largest black film critics’ organization in the United States, representing television, radio, print and online critics. AAFCA will present awards in 12 categories in addition to five special achievement honors at the event on Feb. 4. 2015

by Samantha Ofole-Prince

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.