EKO club international completes successful 2010 Medical Mission to Lagos State

LAGOS – Members of the highly active EKO Club international have again devoted their time and services to Lagos State indigenes through its very laudable Medical mission trip. The 2010 Medical Mission has been described as a collective show of service to humanity in the spirit of love which also attracted support from other USA based organizations such as the Nigerian Nurses Association USA amongst others.


The 2010 mission attracted over 50 USA based volunteers who spent about two weeks in Nigeria administering free medical services to a large population of Lagos State indigenes. The mission will be the third by ECI after the 2007 and 2008 editions. The 2010 mission is dedicated to the memory of Dr. Nurudeen Olowopopo in honor of his tremendous support and dedication to ECI and the medial mission program.


The Lagos State Government under the approval of His Excellency, Governor Babatunde Raji Fashola played host to the medical team. Members of the medical team carried out their services on the sites of the palaces of the Oba of Lagos; Oba Elegushi, Oba Osolo of Isolo and Oba Ojora of Ijora amongst other sites. The medical team had arrived Lagos State Nigeria with medical and surgical equipments, medical supplies and medicines worth tens of thousands of dollars.


One of the major highlights of the 2010 medical mission was the laying of the foundation stone of a proposed outpatient Clinic at Isolo Local Government to be built by ECI. The land was donated by Oba Osolo of Isolo and when completed would be dedicated to the memory of Dr. Nurudeen Olowopopo.


Eko Club International (ECI) is a non-profit organization of Lagosians (citizens of Lagos State, Nigeria) in the USA, Canada and Europe.


Current Executive

Zainudeen Popoola-Aromire                            President

Bissy Gaji                                                        Vice President

Collin I. Atobajeun                                          General Secretary

Khairat Animashaun-Ajiboye                           Assistant Sec Gen

Toyin Ola                                                        P.R.O

Kolawole Daniel                                             Treasurer

Toyin Olanrewaju                                           Financial Secretary

Larry Ojo                                                        Auditor

Bola Kosoko                                                   Social Secretary

Yinka Oluwole-Aina                                       Chief Liaison Officer

Bashir Rahman                                                Chief Whip



photos courtesy of Julie Van-Lare, RN, MSN and Trendy Africa Media, Nigeria


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.