Waves of Change in Nigeria

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointments of senior officials in a swift move to continue his planned reforms to address the ills of the past administration. The new appointees include; Engr. Babachir David Lawal, Secretary to the Government of the Federation, SGF, Alhaji Abba Kyari; Chief of Staff to the President, Col. Hameed Ibrahim Ali (rtd.); Comptroller-General, Nigerian Customs Service, Mr. Kure Martin Abeshi; Comptroller-General, Nigerian Immigration Service, Senator Ita S.J. Enang; SSA to the President on National Assembly Matters (Senate); Hon. Suleiman A. Kawu, SSA to the President on National Assembly Matters (House of Representatives).

The statement was announced by the President’s Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, Mr Femi Adesina. It will be recalled that the office of Comptroller-General of Customs became vacant following the voluntary retirement of the former CG, Alhaji Abdulahi Dikko last week. Similarly, the replacement of Comptroller-General, Nigerian Immigration Service was sequel to the suspension of the former CG, Mr. David Parradang last week also.

In other developments, the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation on Thursday said it had reduced the number of crude oil off-takers for the proposed 2015/2016 term contract from 43 to 16. It said the move was part of measures to optimize the marketing of the nation’s crude oil and secure new market potential. NNPC has mapped out measures to execute the 2015/2016 award of contract to companies for the evacuation of Nigeria’s crude oil equity from the various crude and condensate production arrangements.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.